top of page

@ripetomatoes: Bookstagrammer Interview


Photo Credit: @ripetomatoes

@ripetomatoes has one of my favorite accounts! Her crisp photos paired with intriguing text, creates a unique experience for her audience. Be sure to follow her account for some great content and enjoy the interview! :)





@ripetomatoes

Is there a special meaning behind your username? 

Not particularly. I used to run a Tumblr account focused on movie reviews and I thought it was a fun play on Rotten Tomatoes, and it just sort of rolled over to my bookstagram. 


Was there someone or something that inspired you to start your account? 

Not any one person in particular. I just sort of started documenting my current reads and it blossomed from there. 


Why do you love books? 

They transport me to new realms. When I’m feeling lonely or adventurous but can’t escape my real life, I can always rely on a book to take me to new and exciting places. 


Do you have any photography tips? 

Natural light is your best friend whenever possible. 


What's you favorite filter/ editing app? 

I use a combination of IG’s tools along with VSCO and Snapseed.


What is your favorite novel and why? 

I always answer this question with “The Giver”. It hits me in a space deep inside and I first read it when I was a troubled teenager seeking color in a bland life and this book brought a touch of color and hope into my life. 


What are your least favorite and favorite tropes/cliches?

LOVE TRIANGLES. I loathe them. They tend to make me think of strong characters as weak. Although I will say, there have been a scant few love triangles that I actually enjoyed but it is rare.


Any tips for getting photo inspiration?

Seek out content creators you enjoy and recreate those setups. Imitation is the highest form of flattery and I truly believe that practicing setups that you love with spark inspiration within yourself.


What novel  introduced you to the Young adult genre?

Cassandra Clare. My sister begged me for years to read her books and then when I finally did, it created a monster inside of me.


Any advice for new bookstagrammers? 

Stay true to you no matter what. Even if it isn’t universally liked, what is most important is putting out content that you are proud of. 


If you could change the ending to any book, what book would it be and what would you change it to?

Harry Potter! I’m a hardcore Dramione fan.


If someone wrote a book about your life, what would the title be? 

“Train wreck” because my life is an absolute mess sometimes

__________________________________________________________________________________

A big thank you to the lovely @ripetomatoes for this interview! Be sure to follow her account for some amazing content.


For the chance to be featured on my blog tag your bookstagram photos with the hashtag #januaryrabbitfeatures




All photo credits belong to @ripetomatoes

bottom of page