top of page

@budgetboutbooks: Bookstagrammer Interview


I found @budgetboutbooks when he used the #januaryrabbitfeatures for the chance to be one of my featured bookstagrammers. And wa-la! Here he is. His account is so imaginative and stunning. Find out more about the content creator @budgetboutbooks by reading his interview below and be sure to give him a follow.

@budgetboutbooks

Hi! You can call me Budget. Alot of people call me by that. I'm a  Malaysian bookstagrammer who (tries to)buy books on a low budget. lol. I'm 16 years old.  My bookish post alot of it contains surrealism and photo manipulation that are usually inspired by books and sometimes dreams. I also do booktube videos in my yotube channels such as fanart videos and bookstore vlogs. Is there a special meaning behind your username?  I (tries to) buy books on a certain low budget as possible. Thus, Im @budgetboutbooks. Anyone can be "budgetboutbooks" really. Its a term anyone can use and I woulld be happy if someone actually use it in a sentence hahaha

Was there someone or something that inspired you to start your account?  Yes, of course! I found the book community when I was scrolling through instagram randomly one time. I didnt know there was a community of people who likes to take photos and talk about books in instagram so I instantly wanted to join the community as I have a love for photography and books and social medias too.

Why do you love books? I like to hear people's thought and opinions. So when I read, I can read what they think about the world.

Do you have any photography tips?  Quality over content. Nowadays, I see a lot of people taking pictures of the same style they see in bookstagram, of whats trending. Be original and find your own style.

What's you favorite filter/ editing app?  Snapseed and HB filters in VSCO. Any tips for getting photo inspiration? I usually base my edits from books. However, I do usually have dreams for my edits.

What novel  introduced you to the Young adult genre?  It's more of a who. The youtuber, Christine Riccio, recommend me the hunger games series. And I was instantly hooked with YA after that.

Any advice for new bookstagrammers?  Just start. Guarantee you will love it. Its  the best way for us booklovers to make friends who share the same interest as us. What's your favorite movie and/or music group/song, and why?  I love love love Gone Girl. I love how reallistic and raw the movie is. There's also dark truths in the movie that I adore. Such as the monolog "Cool Girl" scene. and I love to hear to Billie Eillish'song. Very soothing and edgy at the same time.

What's your most anticipated read?  Obsidio CANT WAITTT.

What's one thing you want to tell all your followers?  HEY GUYSSS IM ON SOMEONE'S BLOG COME CHECK MY FIRST INTERVIEW HAHAHA! What do you love about the bookstagram community?  The aspect of that  you can make a friend with just one direct message.

If you could spend a day with your favorite book character, what would you do together and what character would it be?  A game battle with the main character of Ready Player One.


---------------

For the chance to be featured on my blog tag your bookstagram photos with the hashtag #januaryrabbitfeatures

bottom of page