top of page

Meet Savannah from @blackfeatherbooks!



Is there a special meaning behind your username? 

Of course!  I wanted something literary, but that didn’t limit me to one book.  As it turns out, a lot of books have birds in them.  The truth behind it though lies in my middle name, Raven.  I love my fowl namesake and also wanted to use it somehow without actually using it, if that makes sense. Thus we have @blackfeatherbooks

Was there someone or something that inspired you to start your account? 

I followed some of the big dogs like @foldedpagesdistillery and @ursulauriarte for 2 years.  I drooled over the books they posted about and hung on every word they said, finally I decided it was time for me to try it too! I had a large collection of beautiful books and a huge amount of bubbling over creativity that just needed used. 

Why do you love books? 

I think it’s for the same reasons most people do, to escape the real world, to live in another land and explore without ever leaving the comforts of my own home. Reading gives us the chance to find ourselves, and learn and to dream. I’m a nurse by profession and I get “real life” all of the time, but when I open a book, I fall in. 

Do you have any photography tips? 

Yes, don’t let everyone fool you, you do not need fancy props or expensive lighting.  Just some practice and some natural light will do wonders.  The biggest mistake I see is when new bookstagrammers buy all of this crazy stuff and then don’t know how to use it.  We all have had a learning curve, trust me. You can scroll back through most of our accounts and see a natural progression of how we’ve gotten better.  Shooting next to a window or even outside is the best trick. 

What's you favorite filter/ editing app? 

I am one of the few grammar’s that does not use a filter or editing app! I was taught in school to always edit your image through the view finder or phone screen in this case. I have filtered about 4 photos on my feed and every time I see them, I cringe.  It’s just not part of my aesthetic. 

Any tips for getting photo inspiration?

There is inspiration all around!  In nature, in movies and magazines and of course your favorite bookstagrammers (but don’t copy them).  Sometimes when I’m lacking inspiration I have to take a few days away from the Gram and build my creativity bank back up. 

What novel  introduced you to the Young adult genre? 

Wow, I think like many people I fell haaaaard for Edward and positively wanted to become a vampire, and then I fell in love with Gale and wanted to shoot a bow like Katniss.  I do remember reading Graceling by Kristin Cashore and thinking “this is what dreams are made of, interesting lands, love and fierce, determined women.” I think that book pushed me into it. Truth be told, I thought that Twilight and the Hunger Games were just anomalies, I actually had no idea that there were 100’s of books out there like that. 

Any advice for new bookstagrammers? 

No matter what, THIS. IS. FOR. FUN! Don’t get bogged down by follower count or number of likes or if you don’t get picked for a rep-ship.  Do it for the creativity and to find new books and build new friendships.  Bookstagram is one of the best parts of my life. I have made so many friends all over the world.  My two best friends are nowhere near me physically, but we talk like we’ve known each other for years and I adore them.  Sam, (@she_who_reads_)  is in New Zealand and Angelica, (@roaming.reader) lives in Portland, Oregon.  I can always count on my girls to brighten my day. 

If someone turned your life into a book, what author would you want to write it? 

Well, clearly I would want Sarah J. Maas to write it, because I do lead an exciting life, but I could use some help in the steamy department.  

What's your most anticipated read? 

I am really looking forward to Rage, the follow-up to Roar by Cora Carmack.  A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas, and  Darkdawn by Jay Kristoff!!

What's one thing you want to tell all your followers? 

Thank you! Thank you for being my friend, thank you for loving books the way I do, thank you for accepting me and all my nerdiness and thank you for liking my photos and taking the time to comment on them.  

What do you love about the bookstagram community? 

I love that it is just that, a community.  We look out for each other and lift one another up.  This is the most supportive group of people in the world who truly care about you.  I am thankful for the friends who have become family and the love and support they give me all while encouraging me to become better.  I have been introduced to books that I would have never found or thought I would enjoy if it weren’t for my gram-family.  We are inclusive, no matter where you are from, what color your skin is or religious beliefs you are welcome here.  I love knowing that I will find new friends and new books each day.  If you’re considering becoming part of this crazy book-loving world, do it, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. 

If you could spend a day with your favorite book character, what would you do together and what character would it be? 

Oh I have so many, but Ginny Weasley will always be my girl.  She is funny and brave and witty.  She is strong and stubborn and loving, all things I strive to be.  So, I’m pretty sure I would spend the day baking with Ginny and then doing some practice spell work, followed by getting some butterbeers at the Three Broomsticks.  Of course we would talk about Harry and then we’d catch a quidditch game where she’d commentate for me.  Personally, it sounds like a great day. 


A big thank you to the lovely Sav, be sure to follow her lovely account @blackfeatherbooks

Use the hashtag #januaryrabbitfeatures on your bookstagram photos for a chance to be featured on my blog.

bottom of page