top of page

How to get ARCs


Hi loves! So recently I’ve been getting questions about how I receive my ARCs (aka. advanced reader copies) so I thought in today’s post I could share how I’m able to get advanced copies of novels.

Full disclosure, I get most of my ARCs from going to book festivals. I went to yallwest this past month and stood in line in the hot sun to get some pretty amazing books that are coming out this year. However, if you are unable to travel to a book festival another way you can get ARCs is by emailing publishers directly. The amazing @novelscript suggested this format for emailing publishers and it’s worked for me so far! If you style your emails in this way it’ll make it easier for publishers to fulfill your request and therefore it will be more likely that you’ll get the ARC you’re after.


------------------------------

Subject line: ARC request: Ignite the Stars

Hello!

My name is Kennedy and I am a book reviewer and instagrammer, interested in receiving a copy of Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan (ISBN13: 9780807536254 | Pub date 9/4/18) to promote and review. I post my reviews to my blog, instagram account, goodreads account, Amazon, and Barnes and Noble. On my instagram account I have an audience of over 3,000 dedicated bibliophiles and I love to share all my favorite books with my followers through carefully curated content. I love to read and review Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Contemporary, and Romance books and would be very excited to promote Ignite the Stars on my social media platforms.

Thank You for your time and I look forward to the opportunity of working with you.

- Kennedy

Instagram: @januaryrabbit

Mailing Address:

Kennedy

12345 Book Lane

Book city, UT

80723

------------------------------

It’s important to put your mailing address in the email, because even if a publisher is interested in sending you an ARC they usually don’t have time to follow up with a reply. So be sure to make it as easy as possible for them. When I chatted with @novelscript she also said that it was a good idea to include other types of genres that you are interested in because if you do a good job promoting the novel you receive they may want to send you more books in the future.


Now I know what you’re thinking. This is great and all Kennedy, but how do I find publishers that I should email? No worries, I’ve got you! So if you have a specific ARC in mind, you can do a quick internet research and find out the publisher. Once you have that info, go to their website and find their contact page. From there, they will either have a general email address or if they have multiple departments and such email their publicity or marketing department.


And that’s all there is to it! Some publishers like SwoonReads and FierceReads have a submission form that you can fill out, but for the most part emailing the publishers works. Of course contacting them, doesn’t always mean that you’ll get an ARC but it doesn’t hurt to try!


Happy Reading and be sure to check out @novelscript ‘s account. I learned all of this info from her so be sure to follow her because her posts are so rich with information and heart!




Some publishers to consider emailing for ARC Requests

Albert Whitman & Co. : mail@albertwhitman.com

Bloomsbury: childrenspublicityusa@bloomsbury.com

Little Brown: publicity@lbchildrens.com

bottom of page