top of page

Bookstagrammer Interview: @cakefacereader





Krizelle from @cakefacereader is a bookstagrammer, blogger, and shop owner! Check out her business Cake and Paint Co. to discover some of her gorgeous bookmarks.







Meet @cakefacereader!


Is there a special meaning behind your username? 

I came up with my username by trying to combine my love of makeup and reading! But I also post a lot of food pictures in my stories so most people think I have a dessert obsession haha! Those people aren’t wrong! 


What's you favorite filter or editing app?

I don’t use any filters but I do use the app Snapseed ALL the time! It’s definitely my favorite. It’s pretty easy to use and has tons of features (even though I mostly just use the contrast and saturation features). Plus I haven’t had any problems with it yet and I’ve been using it for about a year now so it’s reliable!


If you could bring one book character into our world who would it be and why? 

If I could bring one book character into my life it would be Percy Jackson. The Percy Jackson series is what re- launched my love of reading back in middle school so basically how everyone feels about Harry Potter is how I feel about the PJO series. Plus I think Percy would just make every day life so much more fun and adventurous even if it’s just going to McDonald’s or getting groceries. I feel like he’s definitely someone that people would want to be around! 


What are your least favorite and favorite tropes/cliches?

Some of my favorite tropes include having a bad ass female lead who’s probably absurdly powerful (and doesn’t know it) and or probably has a history of being a lost princess/royal figure! I also love impossible heist tropes like SoC! One that I really don’t like is when the guy is a complete jerk to the love interest but he’s actually mean because he’s in love with the person. Seriously hate that! It doesn’t make me feel the sexual tension it makes me want to punch his face.


If someone turned your life into a book, what author would you want to write it? 

I’d love for the author to be Sabaa Tahir! I’m officially obsessed with her series An Ember in the Ashes and I would bet money that she could make my extremely normal life sound like a great, daring adventure! I also love that she’s all about supporting POC authors and diverse book characters. Not many authors are as vocal as she is about it.


What do you love about the bookstagram community? 

What I love most about the bookstagram community is that most people here are so incredibly friendly and warm. I’ve made some amazing friends thanks to booksta and I honestly don’t know if I would be the same without their friendships! I’ve gotten so much support and input on small things like “should I get this book?!” to more serious ideas like opening up my shop. All the love I’ve received from this community is so awesome! 


What is your favorite novel and why?

My favorite novel is probably Ella Enchanted. I read that back in elementary school and it’s a book I can come back to whenever and still have all the same feels all over again! Ella is probably the reason why I love my kick ass babes so much. She was a huge inspiration to baby Krizelle! My copy of the book is so beat up and old now but it’s kind of cool knowing that all of the wear and tear is from my younger self. I’ve got two copies of it now so that the original one doesn’t completely fall apart on me. If you haven’t read it I would definitely encourage you to!


-------------




A enormous thank you to Krizelle for taking the time to do this interview! Don't forget to check out her bookstagram, shop, and blog. :)










Use the hashtag #januaryrabbitfeatures on your instagram posts for the chance to be featured on my blog

bottom of page