top of page

Bookstagrammer Interview: @anovelescape



Kelsea from @anovelescape is a writer by day and a reader by night. On her bookstagram account she posts colorful, fun photos that never fail to delight!






Photo Credit: Jess Juergens



Meet Kelsea!


Is there a special meaning behind your username?

Deinitely! My username, "a novel escape", encompasses what reading means - and has always meant - to me. I'm a chronic over-thinker. Sometimes I find myself pulled into unhealthy spirals of analyzing everything to death. Novels are my escape from reality; they're the only things that consistently tear me out of my spirals, out of my own mind. For a brief period, novels help me escape myself.


What is your favorite novel and why?

Mistborn is my all-time favorite series. It's a masterpiece of so many stories rolled into one. A street kid strives to overcome her mistrust of humanity and discovers the power of friendship and community in the process. Against all odds, a small group of thieves makes plans to overthrow an oppressive government. The story is brilliantly crafted; the magic system is logical; the characters are competent. These are all things that appeal to me. But at its heart, Mistborn's greatest strength lies in its emphasis on the power of hope. Hope and optimism carry so many of the characters through unimaginably tough times. I love that message.


Any advice for new bookstagrammers?


Build relationships and don't stress the numbers! When I first joined bookstagram a year ago, I was amazed by how close the community is: I read captions about talking daily to a group of bookstagram friends, watched people unbox bookish gifts from one another, saw people collaborate on challenges and giveaways together. It sounded like so much fun and I couldn't wait to make friends! I understand that eagerness firsthand, but relationships (like followings) take time and trust to build. Don't worry if you don't have new bookstagram besties in the first month or if that follower number crawls up slowly; or even if it stops moving for a time. Just keep working at your photos; try new things and find your style. Take time to look at other people's photos, stories and feeds; I spend more time on other people's pages than on mine. Talk to people; reach out to the community. And don't compare; it's pointless. There will always be someone with photos you look up to, with more followers, with funnier stories. And that's okay! Enjoy what they have to offer; it doesn't diminish what you have to offer.


What's your favorite filter/ editing app?

I don't use filters right now, but I edit all of my photos using A Color Story - the basic editing features are available for free with the app.


Any tips for getting photo inspiration?

Try a new angle! Arrange things differently. Bring a book when you go out and then photograph it outdoors or find a new spot in your home and snap some photos. Scour your home for anything that could be used as a prop - plants, clothing, jewelry, etc. Pick up a new prop or two at a store or borrow some from a friend to freshen up your photos. Find a book you want to feature and then look for items around the house that match either the cover color or the book theme. Look for a bookstagram challenge and use those prompts to find inspiration. Save your favorite photos from other bookstagrammers and then look through them when you need inspiration. This does NOT mean copy someone else's photos - definitely find your own spin on things. But sometimes an element of a photo will spark an idea that you can incorporate into your photo. Most importantly, give yourself some time and patience to try things out. Sometimes an idea doesn't work out; that's perfectly fine! It's not a waste of time if you've still learned something about what does and doesn't work for your style.


What do you love about the bookstagram community? 

Fellow readers. That's what it all boils down to; that's the power of bookstagram. Bookstagram gives us the solitary types the best of both worlds. We can read by ourselves and still have so many people to discuss the book with afterward. It's like a giant, dynamic book club; chances are, someone out there has read the book you just finished. It's a great place for book recommendations and to keep updated with new releases. I love how strongly bookstagram supports small bookish businesses as well. And for writers such as myself, it has been amazing connecting with other writers. Writing, like reading, can be a lonely activity. I love bookstagram for giving us the power to be social with a group of like-minded individuals when we want to be, while allowing us the freedom to disconnect when we need time away.




For more of her beautiful photos be sure to visit her bookstagram account @anovelescape and give her a follow.


bottom of page