top of page

Interview with @thebooksbuzz

Updated: Jun 26, 2018



Alexandria is a blogger, booktuber, and bookstagrammer .








1. What's your favorite filter/editing app? 

I use the app LINE Camera religiously. It's been my go-to editing app ever since I started bookstagram, and it will probably stay with me till the end of my Bookstagram journey. I think it's a pretty underrated app, and so I always like to recommend it to people since the app store is oversaturated with so many editing apps at the moment. 


2. What is your favorite novel and why? 

My favorite book ever is Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom. This book is completely under-hyped, but one that deserves your attention nevertheless. Not only did this book give me insight into what it is like to live as a blind person, but especially it taught me the importance of being able to judge someone by their personality and not by their appearance. Our main character, Parker Grant, has a lot of wisdom and her lack of sight allows her to see the world differently. Please read this book. You won't regret it. 


3. Any tips for getting photo inspiration? 

I would say my biggest tip is to try something outside of your comfort zone. There was this one time I was really unhappy with my feed and decided to switch things up by using photoshop. I looked up Youtube tutorials about Photoshop 101 and was able to add an element of magic to my photos. It was something totally new and unknown territory for me, but it worked and captured the hearts of a lot of people. The good thing about Instagram is that if you take a risk and it doesn't end up being well-perceived by others, you can just delete it! It'll be like it never happened. 


4. Any advice for new bookstagrammers? 

My biggest advice is to be original. I remember when I started out, and I always strived to copy the theme of another bookstagrammer I loved. People don't come to your account to see something they can get from others. Find your unique style and represent it in a way that best fits you. People want to see something they've never seen before. This is something that you hear a lot, but it's bad to copy others! You can take inspiration from them and apply it to your work, though. 


5. If someone turned your life into a book, what author would you want to write it? 

This is such a hard question! There are so many authors I would love to write my life. Some would probably even make my life seem more interesting than it really is. But if I had to choose someone, it would be Min Jin Lee, author of Pachinko. I feel like I would be a very complex main character and therefore I would need an author to not only write about my complexities but also to write about them in the best light possible. No one's life is easy or perfect. What Min Jin Lee does best is take the hard aspects of life and shapes the character around it, ultimately making him/her stronger because of it. My story will be hard to read, but it will hopefully have a happy ending. 


6. What's one thing you want to tell all your followers? When I started my account, I never imagined it would grow to how many people I have supporting me today. I know that's something that everyone says but it's so easy to feel hopeless and unsuccessful when you're just starting your account. I can't tell you the number of times my mood has instantly been uplifted by the comments or messages of one of my followers. I appreciate every single person who follows me and wants to share their love of books with me. 



A big thank you to @thebooksbuzz for her lovely interview! And be sure to check out her blog, booktube channel, and her gorgeous bookstagram account .







Use the hashtag #januaryrabbitfeatures for the chance to be featured on my blog!

bottom of page