top of page

Almost Impossible


Description from GoodReads

When Jade decided to spend the summer with her aunt in California, she thought she knew what she was getting into. But nothing could have prepared her for Quentin. Jade hasn't been in suburbia long and even she knows her annoying (and annoyingly cute) next-door neighbor spells T-R-O-U-B-L-E.

And when Quentin learns Jade plans to spend her first American summer hiding out reading books, he refuses to be ignored. Sneaking out, staying up, and even a midnight swim, Quentin is determined to give Jade days--and nights--worth remembering.

But despite their storybook-perfect romance, every time Jade moves closer, Quentin pulls away. And when rumors of a jilted ex-girlfriend come to light, Jade knows Quentin is hiding a secret--and she's determined to find out what it is


Overall Thoughts

3/5 stars

Okay let me start off by saying that a 3 star review from me isn’t necessarily bad. Three stars means that this is a book that I didn’t love, but didn’t hate either. I don’t regret reading it but I’m probably not going to ever pick it back up again.


Almost Impossible definitely has its merits! It’s a cute read with lots of banter which I adore. Jade and Quentin definitely have great chemistry and their antics had me laughing out loud more than once. The characters were developed well, and even the side characters felt very real to me. For me, the main issue is with the plot. The big surprise of this novel (aka the secret that Quentin is hiding) was something that COMPLETELY took me by surprise. But that revelation was the only real conflict and it happened towards the very end of the novel, leaving the reader unable to get any real resolution. The characters were fun and relatable, but there was no substantial growth in this story. I was left wanting that a-ha moment at the end of the novel, but never got it. That was my only complaint, but this issue with the plot was glaring and therefore made the story just - eh for me. The characters were great, the writing was funny and flowed well, but the plot and conflict wasn’t fleshed out enough and I felt like there was a more complex story here waiting to be unearthed. So yeah, Almost Impossible didn’t knock it out of the park for me but I think that Williams is a great writer and I’m excited to read some of her other work!

bottom of page