top of page

A Thousand Perfect Notes....more like A Thousand Tears


Beck hates his life. He hates his violent mother. He hates his home. Most of all, he hates the piano that his mother forces him to play hour after hour, day after day. He will never play as she did before illness ended her career and left her bitter and broken. But Beck is too scared to stand up to his mother, and tell her his true passion, which is composing his own music - because the least suggestion of rebellion on his part ends in violence.

When Beck meets August, a girl full of life, energy and laughter, love begins to awaken within him and he glimpses a way to escape his painful existence. But dare he reach for it?


Overall Thoughts

4/5 Stars


Oh. My. GOSH. Okay so I first found out about the author of this book through bookstagram. C. G Drews aka @paperfury has a GORGEOUS bookstagram account and so when I found out that she had written a book I knew I just had to check out her work. I received her novel in the May Illumicrate box and I devoured it that day. I LOVED this book! The characters were so real and endearing. The writing style was different, and it took a little to get used to but once I did I was hooked! There’s a sense of poignancy and suspense that reverberates through the entire novel that I think really spoke to the characters and their overall struggles. It was simple and fantastic! A great debut novel. I would definitely recommend it. *Trigger warning* This book does feature scenes of physical, mental, and verbal abuse.



Characters

Oh my sweet Beck. He’s such a darling cinnamon roll. UGH! I just want to take him in my arms and hug him and protect him from everything bad in the world. He’s a character that needs to be loved and August definitely steps in to fill that role. I adore how August is not the typical contemporary female love interest. She wears hemp clothes, has an aversion to wearing shoes, wears string in her hair, has doodles ALL over her arms and legs. In short she’s no cutesy Lara Jean. And don’t get me wrong, I LOVE LOVE Lara Jean more than I can ever say, but it’s refreshing to see a different type of female love interest in the contemporary genre. August is adorable and just what Beck needs to feel seen and build that sense of friendship that was missing from his life so far. Joey is a violent ANGEL of a child. That little girl cracks me up, and breaks my heart at the same time whenever I read about Joey and Beck’s homelife. Although this book is a quick read, you’re able to get to know the characters and connect with their struggles which ultimately made this book a success for me. GAH! And everything about A Thousand Perfect Notes hits you right in the feels, which is why I've nicknamed the book A THOUSAND TEARS. Beck just needs some love, Joey needs someone to really take care of her, and August just wants to be there for Beck and Joey. Beck's struggle of feeling unworthy and insecure, is something so universal and real, which is why I think the book was so genuine and raw.




Plot

The premise of the novel is pretty straightforward and crisp. There weren’t any major plot twists and  or complexities, but I don’t think this particular book needed any of those things to be a success. I would say that the plot was very much character driven, as it should have been since the premise of the story promises to focus on Beck and his internal struggles. The plot fit the author’s narrative beautifully and allowed readers to understand Beck’s mindset in a much more in depth way. Narratively speaking, the story centered on themes of mental and physical abuse. But I think it’s balanced with points of hope as well that made this book such a poignant read. In short, it’s a simple yet meaningful novel that keeps you engaged to the very end.


Concluding Thoughts

AHHH! This book was so good, I finished it in a snap and after that ending I want MORE of Beck and August and my violent angel Joey. Drews' writing style was different and not what I was used to, but I think it allowed for readers to better understand Beck’s mindset and his world perspective which in turn created a more thoughtful and meaningful reading experience. I recommend this book to readers who are looking for a fresh, poignant contemporary read.




__________________________________________________________________________________


About the Author of A Thousand Perfect Notes


Check out her website for book reviews and updates on her writing projects and follow her instagram account @paperfury for stunning bookish content!


bottom of page